First Build

fted

I'm new to this and am currently running a terrible backup solution and SMB shares stright on the router. This works but was definetly a temporary solution.

The primary goal is the backup devices on the network as well as stream some video/music, and to have some HDD failure protection.

I guess you can do above on a tighter budget, but I am also interesting in upping the workload in the future if I need additional services.

The main reason I am interested in unraid is to get use of and "merge" External drives I've got lying around to a single location and protect them to some extent.

I want to keep it as far below 1000 USD as possible without it struggling.

I would use at most 6 Drives and the max capacity I would need is 15 -20 TB.

It would be nice to have some flexibility in singel VMs (Windows) and perhaps single stream Plex in the far future.

Applications I would be interested in are DropBox, Transmission, mySQL and some maintanance. Maybe some backup featured apps.

I do have some drives laying around. Some are encased external drives that im planning on taking apart. I will buy at least one new WD RED 4TB.

The additional parts I've been eyeing are:

CPU:

Intel Core i3-6100 3.7GHz Dual-Core Processor https://www.amazon.com/dp/B015VPX2EO/?tag=pcpapi-20

Motheboard

ASRock Z270M-ITX https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N1MOFKZ/?tag=pcpapi-20

Memory

Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0123ZCD36/?tag=pcpapi-20

PSU

SeaSonic 520W 80+ Bronze Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0038T0V8Q/?tag=pcpapi-20

Case

Fractal Design Node 304 Mini ITX Tower Case https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811352027&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-PCPartPicker,%20LLC-_-na-_-na-_-na&cm_sp=&AID=10446076&PID=3938566&SID=

This is my first build and I'm not sure if there are some other parts I should be considering.

Would appriciate any input on above!  :D