Build a 'dropbox'-like system?

Hello,

I am new to unRAID but am excited to have built my own system--I may even post pics! Besides the obvious use of media server, I would also like to try to use unRAID to sync files from my development laptop(s) to the unRAID server over the Internet, similar to the way I use Dropbox. I like Dropbox, but I wondered if it were possible to build something similar. I realize that there may be many 'moving parts' to this and perhaps the concept is a foolish one overall, but I am merely curious if it could be done and what might be the best way to achieve this goal. Currently I am looking at using:

a) Freefilesync w/real-time-monitor on Windows (I use this already, so I'm familiar with it but not married to it)

b) something called ExpanDrive for Windows (SFTP destination mapped as a Windows drive-letter); it's not free ($39/each)

c) proftpd installed on unRAID through unMENU?

Looking at this "Rube Goldberg-esque" list of moving parts, I feel that perhaps there might be a better way. So I leave it to the experts here to come to my aid, if possible. Any suggestions would be most appreciated, even if the answer is to abandon the idea. ;)

Thank you for reading!

--Jeff

Thanks for the reply and the links, Dase and WeeboTech!

I should have further clarified that I wish to have my unRAID act in a manner similar to the dropbox servers, whereby i would no longer have a need to use dropbox and certainly overcome the space limit of 2GB or one of their paid subscriptions. Since I will have TB of disk space, I wish to access it anywhere I have my client setup. So, for example, while I am at work, I would like to have access to my unRAID to place files that I may wish to access at home when I get home. My PC at work should "monitor" a folder of my choice and send the changes to my unRAID at home periodically.

WeeboTech, rather than bungling up an explanation of Dropbox, here is a link to their site which should explain all: