PLEX won't play anything at 1080p?

Hi, I'm pretty noob to unRaid and total noob to Plex so please be gentle..... 

Main issue is that I can't play any videos (haven't even tried a movie yet) at better than 4Mbps 720p resolution.  Have googled and messed around for the past two days without much success.  Perhaps my server (Sandy Bridge i3-2100 @ 3.1Ghz with 2GB of DDR3) just doesn't have enough power for the job?  Any help would be appreciated.

Additional info:  I'm running unRaid v6.1.9 with the Plex application in Docker.  Parity + 5 data drives, no cache drive.  One of the data drives is entirely for Docker (set to 200GB) and Plex, the rest contain my media. 

• Like 1

Have you tried changing Settings -> Player -> Remote Quality?  I'm not clear if you've changed it and Plex isn't doing what you asked...

By the way, the recommended configuration is for Docker and Plex to live on the cache drive.  Dockers in general and Plex specifically are constantly accessing the drive they're on and will keep both that data drive and parity spinning all the time, otherwise they would spin down.  Writes to the cache drive are also a lot faster than the protected array, and in particular transcoding to the array will be painful since both transcoding and calculating parity require CPU.

This is likely more of an issue with the Plex client than with the Plex server or UnRAID. Plex has a number of different clients with different code bases so knowing that would be helpful. Also, have you tried playing it on a different device? Usually if Plex plays at a lower quality it is because of network issues. Are you streaming on wireless or wired? Is it playing from within your LAN or over the internet? Whats your network speed if on LAN? Also, don't take this as insulting as I've gotta ask, is it a 1080p TV and not 720p? If none of my suggestions help you'd be much better off asking on the Plex forum as the issue probably lies there and not with UnRAID or Docker.