Would this work for first build?

abi

I've been thinking about building my first unraid server -- but I have very little experience with this sort of thing and have been dithering about spending a few hundred dollars. My plan would be to put 3+1 drives in it for now, but have some wiggle room for a bit of future expansion.

I'm tempted by today's newegg deal (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.590795&cm_sp=ShellShocker-_-590795-_-01252011).

Seems pretty good. Would this make sense as an unraid server, mainly to hold videos and music for our HTPC, plus home movie and photo backups?

$254.99 + shipping + drive cages + drives =

CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 245 Regor 2.9GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM3 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor

Motherboard: ASUS AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX Motherboard

RAM: Kingston HyperX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

Case: RAIDMAX APEX Black SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Power Supply:  450W Power Supply (Model:ATX-802BP) (seems to come with above case)

SATA Expansion Card(s): 6

Cables: don't know

Fans: 120mm rear fan

Total Drive Capacity: six 3.5” drive bays (two external and four internal)

Primary Use: NAS for HTPC

Thanks for your input!

Just a few thoughts

The no name powersupply is of concern, though probably fine for a small build. Actually, you can zoom in on the power supply label in the case picture, and it looks like its a single 21A +12V rail. Model number is Rx-450k, with ky-550atx in brackets beside it

Buying extra things in that deal, that would be of no use in an unraid box? (dvd burner, card reader) So while you're saving $56, once you take away the cost of the extraneous bits, the savings only $22. Though you may have those earmarked for elsewhere?

Personally, I'd prefer a 45W CPU over the 65W one. Heat and power consumption really (though this cpu may be undervolted to achieve same?)