[SOLVED] Configure second NIC

hi,

i'm new to unRaid and this forum. Since a few days i use unRaid (Version 4.7) and it works really great (espacially the air-video software and user shares). I like it very much. The only problem i have: i want to use two NIC's.

One network card should serve 10.10.0.* and the other card should serve 192.168.80.*. This is because i have two seperate networks at home but all clients should save data on the unRaid server.

I don't even know where to start, because "ifconfig -a" shows only one network interface. I've read in the forum that unRaid only works with one card and i have to manually configure the second one - but don't know how...

Any help would be really great!

thanks

avajon

With "ifconfig eth1 192.168.80.200 netmask 255.255.255.0 up" it works. My problem was that i needed a new network card which is supported by unRaid. So, it works fine. I can connect me from every client in my two networks to the tower :) thank you to everyone!

You should be able to load a nic module with /sbin/modprobe or insmod

I'm way out of date so can't give specifics for current stuff, let alone unraid.

modprobe -lt net should show you the list of net modules unraid knows about, then you can try loading it and aliasing to eth1 or whatever so you can configure it.

Then it all has to be saved in your go script or elsewhere to survive reboots.

It would be nice to see a real recipe added to the FAQ. It'll be of use to me, too, in the near future.

dunno if it is possible to  configure the second nic...

you could look in your logs if the second nic is recognized in the boot sequence (i have seen logs where eth1 is recognized and a driver is selected)

if there is a eth1 then ifconfig could save you bacon

ifconfig eth1 192.168.X.X netmask 255.255.255.0

but i am not sure how unraid will work with a second nic

what you want to do is perfectly doable though with one nic

just alias eth0

ifconfig eth0:0 192.168.x.x netmask 255.255.255.0