Tips for Noobs - Duplicates, Versioning, and General Organization

Hi Everyone,

I've had my UnRaid a few years now and I thought I'd try to offer a few tips for noobs - as a contribution to the community and as a thanks for the help I've received from others on these forums.

Having an UnRaid with lots of TBs can create significant organization issues -  in particular with duplicate files.  As an avid photographer, I have thousands upon thousands of image files, but these tips apply to pretty much any collection.

Here are my suggestions (using a Windows box to connect to my UnRaid):

Step 1  - Create a "Dump folder" on Disk1 that is alphabetically before all your other folders (or utilize all of Disk1) and place any new files that you load onto your UnRaid into this folder.  (When I get back from a photo shoot, I simply copy all of my files to this folder.  Do the same thing with your movies, MP3s, etc.)

Step 2 - Scan your UnRaid for duplicate files utilizing DoubleKiller (or DoubleKiller Pro) which can be downloaded from:  http://www.bigbangenterprises.de/en/doublekillerpro/comp.htm  For many users, the FREE version will be more than adequate.

On the Options Tab, you can set the tool to check for duplicate files by Name, Size, Date, and CRC checksum (a math calculation that is file unique).  I suggest the CRC checksum for maximum reliability, but it's the slowest.  Also note that when you "Include Subdirectories" (to choose the regions you want scanned) instead of browsing you can always type the location directly into the "Folder" box - for example, enter: \\tower\disk1 and it will be added to the scan list.  I simply add all of my UnRaid drives in this fashion and then click "RUN" to find the duplicates throughout my UnRaid.