Author Topic: [SOLVED] My first UNRAID server, no network  (Read 3890 times)

Offline ohotos

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
[SOLVED] My first UNRAID server, no network
« on: November 18, 2011, 05:43:20 PM »
I have just completed my first unraid server and after getting it to run once and managing to get into the web GUI I had to shut it down. Ever since I am trying to get it to run again but after booting successfully I don't get any network. When looking up ifconfig eth0 it doesn't show an IP address just returns this:
Link encap :Ethernet HWaddr 00:1b:21:bb:32:8c
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

Also I am not able to use shutdown -h now
this used to work before.
As I said before I managed to have an IP once but had to shutdown and since then no luck getting it to work.
I am very new to this and would appreciate any help I can get. What other information should I provide to get some help?
When I first managed to get an IP address I was using the onboard LAN, still using the onboard LAN it stopped working. As I know that there are issues with Realtek 8111E chipsets I added an Intel PCI network controller now and disabled the onboard LAN, but I still have the same problem.
Cable is known to work and I get two green lights at the back of the LAN card. I am running 4.7 btw.
Thanks in advance if you can get me on the right track to solve this.

UPDATE: I'll link to the syslog here in the first post so you don't have to look for it further down. Sorry, couldn't capture it in another way than screenshots http://www.dropbox.com/gallery/3114797/1/Unraid?h=28c8a8#
The problem seems to be that the USB (that works on two other machines, tried different USB as well) is not properly mounted and thus the system not able to see the network config file.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2011, 07:40:12 AM by ohotos »

Offline newbuser

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2011, 07:52:35 PM »
I'd be interested in some parts of this answer as well.  I have a box that I need to set a new address for but it seems not to want to cooperate 

Offline dgaschk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8017
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2011, 09:18:39 AM »
http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=9880.0

Using shutdown is not a safe way to reboot. Three safe ways to power down:
There are no other safe ways to power down!

Mod edit: fixed the broken URL above.
- Raj
« Last Edit: November 21, 2011, 05:39:15 PM by Rajahal »
Include your VERSION and SYSTEM LOG Unofficial Documentation  Check Disk Filesystems Console Commands

Revert to stock system:Stock go file:
1. Rename the /boot(flash)/config/plugins directory.
2. Rename the /boot(flash)/plugins directory.
3. Rename boot(flash)/extra/.
4. Use the stock go file (boot(flash)/config/go).
#!/bin/bash
# Start the Management Utility
/usr/local/sbin/emhttp&
#The following line is not stock; but it makes safemode work with go file additions.
if grep -wq unraidsafemode /proc/cmdline ; then exit ; fi
#Additional go file modifications below this line.

Offline ohotos

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2011, 03:52:21 PM »
As I don't have access to the webgui I am not able to reboot or shutdown that way and the setup tutorial says to use shutdown -h. Any ideas on what I could do to get the network working again?

Offline dgaschk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8017
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2011, 06:39:40 PM »
"shutdown -h now" is only used after the array has been stopped. The link above has an extra space. Here is the correct version: http://lime-technology.com/wiki/index.php?title=Console#To_cleanly_Stop_the_array_from_the_command_line
Include your VERSION and SYSTEM LOG Unofficial Documentation  Check Disk Filesystems Console Commands

Revert to stock system:Stock go file:
1. Rename the /boot(flash)/config/plugins directory.
2. Rename the /boot(flash)/plugins directory.
3. Rename boot(flash)/extra/.
4. Use the stock go file (boot(flash)/config/go).
#!/bin/bash
# Start the Management Utility
/usr/local/sbin/emhttp&
#The following line is not stock; but it makes safemode work with go file additions.
if grep -wq unraidsafemode /proc/cmdline ; then exit ; fi
#Additional go file modifications below this line.

Offline ohotos

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2011, 07:08:33 PM »
I haven't even come to the point yet where I set up my HDDs, so does this still apply? My primary concern for now is to get the network working again so I can setup the server.

Offline chickensoup

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2011, 10:08:08 PM »
If you don't have any important data then I would suggest the following, essentially starting from scratch:

  • Disconnect all drives
  • Full format your flash drive
  • Re-download & re-make your flash drive
  • Check unRAID boots OK
  • Reboot properly using the WebUI
  • Check unRAID still boots OK
  • Clean shut-down & connect drives
  • Re-assign, re-clear drives

If you are still having issues post a SYSLOG as you may have a hardware problem.
Link to my build:
Core i3 540 | Gigabyte H57M-USB3 | 2GB DDR3 | Custom modified chassis | Corsair VX550W 80 PLUS PSU
1x 500GB Seagate 7200 (Cache) | 6x 2TB Seagate LP 5900 | 1x 1TB WD GP 5400 | 1x 1TB Seagate 7200
Total Storage: Raw 14.5TB, Redundant 12TB, Formatted 11.06TB

Offline ohotos

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2011, 03:40:34 AM »
I did all this just now again, still no network so no way to try to shut down properly using webUI.
My flash is booting OK (tried on two machines). In the boot log I noticed that towards the end it says:

Triggering udev events: /sbin/udevadm trigger  --type=failed
/etc/rc.d/rc.inet.conf: line 18 /boot/config/network.cfg: No such file or directory
/etc/rc.d/rc.inet.conf: line 19 /var/tmp/network.cfg: No such file or directory

I checked and the /config/network.cfg file is definitely present on my flash.

Offline olssy

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2011, 10:31:17 AM »
Might sound like a stupid suggestion but did you try booting your USB key off a different USB port? Yesterday I changed ports on my UnRaid machine and everything seemed normal at first but I kept having weird behavior with udevadm until I moved the key back to were it was before.

Also, do you use DHCP or a static IP? If it is static, you can try and force it like so:
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx netmask xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx up

Depending on your network this might give you an IP. It seems that the real problem is what you found in your logs, it can't read the network.cfg file. Like I said, it might be worth changing USB ports and giving it a try.

Offline ohotos

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2011, 11:18:16 AM »
Yes, I tried off different USB ports.
I use DHCP.
I have now redone the USB drive another time and will try again tonight. Found some posts talking about the USB drive not getting properly mounted even though unraid boots and thus not being able to read network.cfg... will look into that tonight and see if I can get this thing running.

Offline dgaschk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8017
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2011, 02:27:05 PM »
Run check disk on the flash in a PC.
Include your VERSION and SYSTEM LOG Unofficial Documentation  Check Disk Filesystems Console Commands

Revert to stock system:Stock go file:
1. Rename the /boot(flash)/config/plugins directory.
2. Rename the /boot(flash)/plugins directory.
3. Rename boot(flash)/extra/.
4. Use the stock go file (boot(flash)/config/go).
#!/bin/bash
# Start the Management Utility
/usr/local/sbin/emhttp&
#The following line is not stock; but it makes safemode work with go file additions.
if grep -wq unraidsafemode /proc/cmdline ; then exit ; fi
#Additional go file modifications below this line.

Offline ohotos

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2011, 05:30:15 PM »
When I type: ls -l /boot   I can't see any files. so it looks like my USB doesn't mount properly. I have read a few posts about this problem but haven't seen any solutions on what to really do in that case.

Offline Rajahal

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6120
  • Greenleaf Technology
    • Greenleaf Technology
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2011, 05:42:17 PM »
Run check disk on the flash in a PC.

Do this.  Your flash drive might be corrupted.  See here for more info.
Like us on Facebook | Follow me on Twitter
Looking for a prebuilt server? Greenleaf Technology
Building it yourself? Greenleaf Prototype Builds
Troubleshooting | Wiki

Offline ohotos

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2011, 06:00:54 PM »
CHKDSK doesn't return any errors, volume name is UNRAID.

Offline Rajahal

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6120
  • Greenleaf Technology
    • Greenleaf Technology
Re: My first UNRAID server, no network
« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2011, 06:10:23 PM »
Try booting with a static IP.  Connect your unRAID flash drive to another computer, navigate into the 'config' folder, and edit the network.cfg file with a text editor.  Change it so that it looks like this:

# Generated settings:
USE_DHCP=no
IPADDR=192.168.0.100
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
GATEWAY=192.168.0.254
DHCP_KEEPRESOLV=
DNS_SERVER1=192.168.0.254
DNS_SERVER2=
DNS_SERVER3=

The Gateway and DNS_Server1 should the the IP address of your router.  Note the bold digits above, they all have to match (can be 0 or 1).  The last three digits of the IP address can be anything you like, but it is helpful to make it something that is easy to remember, like 100 in the example above.

Save changes and safely eject the flash drive.  Try booting from it and type 'ifconfig' again to see if you see the IP address you set.  If you do, you can then try to access the server's web GUI by typing in the server's IP address into a web browser.

Like us on Facebook | Follow me on Twitter
Looking for a prebuilt server? Greenleaf Technology
Building it yourself? Greenleaf Prototype Builds
Troubleshooting | Wiki