The 3X2 Cage review - iStarUSA and Icy Dock (and more)

Whaler_99

Hey everyone, I am back to review a few more units. It you haven't read the original 5x3 review, I suggest you check it out HERE first.

This time I am looking at two 3x2 cages - excellent options for those cases with only a couple of 5.25" bays left. Plus, one of them is trayless. Know a lot of you have been asking about them. I also have an updated model to one of the previously reviewed 5x3 cages and I also take a quick look at one 4x3 that a lot of us are familiar with.

I will be looking at the iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS (Blue) (3x2), the Icy Dock MB153SP-B (3x2), a CoolerMaster STB-3T4-E3 (4x3) and finally a iStarUSA BPU-350SATA (5x3).

If you would like any additional pics or information on the units, please PM me and I will try and accommodate.

For anyone wanting to go to the main gallery and look at all the pics, please go Here.

THE REVIEW

Let me remind you, I am not a professional reviewer. What I have documented are things I have observed and experienced working with all four units and my own opinions. Hopefully this and the pictures will help you make that critical decision.

iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS (Blue) (3x2)

Initial Thoughts:

- Packaging is fine, should arrive without any damage

- Unit is "shrink" wrapped

- Unit overall has a pretty solid feel

- Grooves in the side, to allow the tabs separating 5.25" cages to fit. Should work on most cases.

- Includes 3 locking SATA cables and screws

- Really light weight, especially compared to the 5x3 cages

- Really nicely designed rear, ample room for SATA and power Cables

- Heavy duty switches for the FAN speed and HDD LED.

- Supports 6Gb/s SATA Connections

- Uses a standard size 70x70x15 rear fan, easy to get at, but custom 3 pin connector

- Basic manual included, shows the orientation between the trays and SATA connectors in the rear, but nothing on the unit itself to show which tray is which numbered slot