File Server noob needs help picking hardware

jason4207

I recently got the inkling to build a file/print server due to our (my families) computer configuration and my future plans.  My buddy's on OCForums have directed me here, and unRAID looks to be the best solution for me sans the print server.  I've done some research, so i'm not coming into this blind...but I'm still a noob to file servers.  So, here goes...

Currently, 2 desktops and a laptop.

My desktop (I'm proud of her!):

Q9550 E0 @ 3.944GHz (464x8.5) 1.208v

TR-Ultra-120-X, 115CFM Panaflo 120mm fan

Asus P5K Premium @ 1856MHz FSB

Ballistix DDR2-800 (4x1GB) 928MHz 4-4-4-4-8 4-30-7-10-10-3-8-3-4-2T

HD 4850 @ 160/500-2D (1.057v) * 820/1200-3D (1.35v)/2.10v-vmem

HR03-GT 57CFM Panaflo 92mm

Auzentech XPlosion DTS-Interactive

4x640GB SataII in Matrix RAID10 XP-32/Vista-64, Silverstone Zeus 560W

(3)120mm, (2)90mm, (1)250mm case fans in TT Armor case

Canon MP530 AIO printer

Wife's hand-me-down:

P4 3.0E @ 3.6GHz w/ XP-90c

P4P800E-Deluxe

2x512MB DDR-500

AIW X800-XT

2x250GB SataII in RAID0

Antec 480W

Antec 900 case

HP Photosmart 8050

spare HDDs: 250GB IDE, 40GB IDE

spare PSU: PC P&C 750W Silencer

What I'd like to do is move the 4x640GB & 2x250GB into the soon-to-be file server.  I'll throw the 40GB IDE in my wife's rig for OS, and I'll get myself a Velociraptor for my own rig's OS.  I've got an external USB enclosure that the 250GB IDE is in and it's probably a good idea to keep it there.