Simple printing service for unRAID/BubbaRAID

Fellow RAIDers,

One thing that was important for me when starting this unRAID project was to have print server (of some sort) support. My Buffalo Terastation actually did a nice job of this, making it a SMB shared printer, etc.

I started playing with unRAID, then BubbaRAID, and realized that I needed some special things. I wanted the H/W sensors on my mobo (Asus A7N8E - Deluxe) to work so that I could monitor temps and get fancontrol working. I built a full Slackware distro in VMWare and proceeded to start constructing my own environment. There are many links and many great posts, this one was quite helpful:

http://lime-technology.com/wiki/index.php?title=Building_a_custom_kernel

Once I got that working, I built a custom kernel with the modules required for my mobo. The modules are loading and fancontrol is configured and starts automatically on boot.

Well, back to the printing story. I have a Samsung ML-1610 laser printer with only USB ports. I searched high and low for various methods of printing. I was avoiding CUPS and SMB printing for a variety of reasons. It is big, hard to configure and probably would have required all sorts of other packages not native to unRAID. I kept figuring, there has to be a fairly low-overhead way of getting info from a host (i.e. some Windows machine) to a USB port on the server.

So, eventually I stumbled upon http://p910nd.sourceforge.net/