Migrating data from old unRAID server to new

Greeting fellow unRAID enthusiasts.  This is my first forum post, although I've been using unRAID for many years.

My first unRAID server has grown too large (64TB) for the outdated hardware I built it on (PCI slots), and I'm in the process of building a second server.

I'll probably keep them both, but somewhat downsize the old server and relegate it to longer-term storage of less-frequently accessed data.

My question regards copying data between the servers.  I don't want to use the network because I only have 100Mb/s on the old server.  At that rate each terabyte will take about a day to copy.

(I searched for things like "migrate" but most results seemed to be about upgrading server versions or moving all drives from one host to another.)

My idea is to mount the drive(s) containing the data to be copied onto the new server (read-only!) and 'cp -r' on the command line from the mounted drive(s) to the new array.  I've already confirmed that I can do the required mounting on the new server, via eSATA, of a test drive that was once in an unRAID array.

(The old server *was* version 5.0.beta12 until this evening when I upgraded it to 5.0.5, the same version as the new server.)

I just want to make sure I'm not missing something that would make the proposed approach unworkable.

Thanks for your help, and a big thanks to LimeTech for building and maintaining such a quality system!

server1-half.jpg.c7a30b5124ea46ee68135b9b868ee0ac.jpg

There are a variety of approaches you can take ...

(1)  As you've noted, you could mount the old drives one-at-a-time and copy the data to the new server;

(2)  As dgaschk suggested, you could simply use the old drives in your new server;  then upgrade them one-at-a-time to larger drives.    Note this won't work if your old server has any IDE drives, although with 64TB that seems unlikely, as your average capacity is well above the size of the largest IDE drives.