GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P PCIe Issues and responses from Gigabyte Support

I am a big Gigabyte fan.  I am an unRAID newbie, I just built my first box over last weekend.  I have a Norco 4020 case and want to eventually run 20 drives.  I chose the GA-EP45-UD3P MB since it has 8 on-board sata ports plus 2 PCIe x16(one runs x8 mode) and 3 PCIe x1 slots.  I have 5 inexpensive SD-SA2PEX-2IR PCIe x1 sata controllers (Sil3132 chipset) that where purchased from monoprice.  Below is a transcript of my questions and answers from Gigabyte tech support.  The x1 cards will not work in either x16 slot.  I have updated the latest bios on both the MB and sata controllers.  So right now I can only use 3 of them, they work great in the x1 slots.  I did try a HighPoint RocketRaid 2310 x4 card in both x16 slots and it worked fine.  I also tried a 3ware 9690SA x8 card in both x16 slots and it worked fine too.  So gigabyte is telling me that both x16 slots are for "meant for video cards only", "designed for vga", and "strictly for vga".  Should I be concerned with running a sata controller in a x16 slot with this MB?  I can probably safely add two Adaptec 1430SA cards later down the road and then I will have 22 total sata ports.  ;D  Is there another motherboard that I should consider that will run 20 hard drives all on the PCIe bus?  Is anyone else running the GA-EP45-UD3P MB with a sata controller in one of the x16 slots?

Thanks,

JimmyJoe

Question : Hi. I am building a storage server using SD-SA2PEX-2IR PCIe x1 sata controllers (Sil3132 chipset). I have a PCI video card and want to use 5 add-in PCIe x1 sata controllers. When I insert into any PCIe x1 slot, they work fine and the system posts in 13 seconds. When I try even a single sata controller in either PCIe x16 slot, the system takes 34 seconds to post and does not recognize the sata controller. What do I need to do to use a PCIe x1 sata controller in the PCIe x16 slot? Thanks