4+4... 2x4... and other 8TB algebra

So, the second preclear cycle for 8TB Seagate Archive drives completed successfully (preclear the 8TB Archives via USB 3.0 card speed example), and, not having patience for the third one, I started playing.

The idea was to use 4TB+4TB, or 4x2TB RAID-0 pool for parity and 8TB Archive drives for data.

Well that does not work so far. Edited: yes it works! See further in the thread.

Test setup: Supermicro H8DME-2 with some low-end Opteron and 4GB RAM, unRAID Trial 6.0-beta14b.

Available drives are: 3x8TB Seagate Archives, 2x4TB Seagates, 4x2TB HGSTs/Samsungs... and one 2.5" Hitachi of size 160GB  ;D

Available RAID cards are:

PCI-X:

3Ware AMCC 9550SX-12SI 12 Port SATA PCI-X RAID (teeested - toooooo sloooow?)

Areca ARC-1110 4 Port 64Bit 133MHz PCI-X SATA II RAID fw 1.39 Works 4x2TB=8TB parity, with capacity truncation disabled

Areca ARC-1110 4 Port 64Bit 133MHz PCI-X SATA II RAID firmware updated to 1.49 Works 4+4TB=8TB parity, with capacity truncation disabled

Adaptec Dell 6-Port SATA RAID AAR-2610SA 0H2052 (not tested yet, how to select drives?)

LSI SAS3041X-R 4-Port PCI-X-133 SAS/SATA 3Gb/s RAID  (not tested yet, how to enter setup?)

PCIe x2:

Addonics AD4SA6GPX2 4-port PCIe x2 Test post (no spanning (!), RAID only)

Areca ARC-1210 4 Port PCI-e x8 SATA II RAID fw 1.49 Works 4+4TB=8TB parity, with capacity truncation disabled

On-drive:

3 x Addonics AD2HDDHP6G Drive mount 2-Port 6G HPM Addonics AD2HDDHP6G tests post

On-bracket:

SYBA SY-PCI40037 1:5 SATA II Dip Switch RAID Tests post, results similar to Addonics "on-drive"

PCI:

Sunweit XWT52 PCI SATA 150 RAID card 4 ports (in the mail from China, 3 weeks?)

Preliminary (2015-03-24) conclusions: