OT: 1U HELP Firewall - with build in Harrier Jump jet fan (suggestions for fan)

NAS

Normally i would not go this OT but I am at my wits end. I upgraded one my firewalls here and the new hardware has a CPU fan that is so unbelievably loud. I cant get the exact specs but it has to be pushing 40dB (its that bad).

I have got the thing in bits and its a side ways draw, blow down semi closed 60mm fan (with bespoke approx 68mm diagonal mounting screw holes so no direct replacement possible). I reckon i could easily fit a 80mm 3 pin fan between the heatsink and the case lid and if it was 15 mm deep that would leave a couple of mm free.

Not being a fan expert I am concerned that there wont be enough room to draw air from above but at this point I am at my wits end and NEED to replace this fan and damn the consequences.

Anyone got any suggestions so I can stop getting daily headaches :(

Help !

Note: P4 2.8Ghz and the 3 pin fan sounds like its speed controlled cause it changes pitch to be just that bot more annoying

Sleeved non-PWM fans generally offer the more pleasant noise signature at the cost of longevity and airflow-temperature scaling.

There are three 80x15mm fans that I know of in retail, unfortunately I don't know their models off the top of my head.  From quietest to loudest there is Evercool (sleeved), Zalman(BB), and Delta's (BB).  There are however a plethora of 70x15mm fans.  I found that the older 70x15mm (or maybe they're 70x10mm) OEM Opteron fans were comparable with anything on the market and have had great success with those.

Normally i would not go this OT but I am at my wits end. I upgraded one my firewalls here and the new hardware has a CPU fan that is so unbelievably loud. I cant get the exact specs but it has to be pushing 40dB (its that bad).