Powering fans from a dedicated external PSU

NAS

I am looking to power four 120mm 1W case fans from a dedicated PSU not connected to anything else.

Has anyone any experience of this? I was considering just taking a spare transformer form some random piece of deprecated kit that is rated above 5W and is 12V and powering it that way.

Any experience or advice would be appreciated.

Cheers

no experience with this precisely, but as an EE I can say you should have no problems as long as the wall-wart ahs the current rating you need...

And as a technician I'd add as long as the wall-wart supplies DC (Direct-Current) and not AC (Alternating-Current.)

So my basic math says as long as the transformer supplies DC 12V and can handle more than 0.35Amps as stated on the sticker I think I am fine runing four 1W fans in parallel or series?

In parallel, yes... Never in series...  The fans would probably not even start if all wired in series unless you used a much higher voltage wall-wart than usually found on consumer equipment.

If you do not know the difference between series wiring and parallel wiring... then get help...

Joe L.

OK will do some more fan checking and digging around for a supply. I think i might have flat block one that came with a external SATA caddy.

Thanks again for all the replies.... finally i will banish my cabinet mains powered super noisy fans with something more sensible

NAS, also remember that manufacturers tend to have a +/- 10% threshold on their fan ratings which could have some impact on your wattage/voltage as well.

Will do.

I have actually just found a PSU from an old IDE docking rack with specs listed on it as:

Input: 100-240Vac ~ 56/60Hz 1A

Output: +5Vdc 2.0A

+12Vdc 2.0A

My only concern with this PSU is that I will be ignoring the 5Vdc line.

rest assured I am no where near trying this alot more reading needs completed first.