Poll

Do you use spin up groups?

Yes
7 (9.6%)
No
57 (78.1%)
What the heck are spin up groups?
9 (12.3%)

Total Members Voted: 73

Voting closed: August 13, 2015, 12:53:50 PM

Author Topic: Do you use spin up groups?  (Read 8344 times)

Offline Griz

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #45 on: August 04, 2015, 07:15:54 AM »
I use them.   Without them, you get pauses when starting media that is on a spun down drive and sometimes a pause or stutter on playing media if another user causes a drive to spin up.

The users don't care that the hard drive controller isn't configured optimally or that Windoze sucks, all they know is that they are sitting there watching a spinning icon when the media should be playing.

An option to spin up all drives together would be fine, but totally eliminating the feature would be a major degradation of the user experience IMO.

Offline HellDiverUK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #46 on: August 04, 2015, 10:59:24 AM »
As others have said, I voted no, because I didn't realise it would solve the issue I have with Plex pausing at change of media when the new media is on a spun down drive.  The spinup groups would solve this issue and improve WAF.
NAS:
Hardware: PC-M25B, i3-6100, Asus H170M-Plus, 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133, 2xWD80EZZX, 2xWD50ERFX, 1xST8000VN0002 (parity), ADATA SX8000 M.2 256GB (cache), Superflower 350W 80+Gold PSU
Software: UnRAID Pro 6.2.4
Dockers:   SickRage, NZBGet, Deluge, Plex, Couchpotato.
VM: Win10 Pro

Gamer:
Hardware: Fractal Define R5 BOE, i7-6800K@4.4GHz, Asus X99-A, 32GB Crucial DDR4-2400, Strix 980Ti, AX860 PSU, H110i GT AIO cooler
Storage: 512GB Samsung 950Pro NVMe, 480GB Corsair Neutron XT (Steam), WD 5TB Red (backup)
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro

Offline mifronte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #47 on: August 25, 2015, 11:24:52 PM »
I missed the voting because I don't come to the forum too often since unRAID never gives me problem.  However, I have used Spin Up Groups since my very first unRAID server.  Spin up groups elminate lag and timeouts from application when the pause for disks to spin up takes too long.  If it wasn't for Spin Up Groups, I would have never gone beyond the trial license since the delay was a deal breaker and having the disks constantly spinning was also a deal breaker.
unRAID v6.2.4  Pro
Supermicro X7SBE w/ SIM1U+ IPMI Intel E6500 2.93GHz Kingston 8GB (4 x 2GB) 2x KVR800D2E5K2/4G
Norco RPC-4224 w/ 3x Delta AFC1212DE-PWM 120mm & 2x Nexus SP802512H-03PWM 80mm Seasonic X750 Gold
2x SuperMicro SAT2-MV8 Syba SD-LP-PEX2IR Sil3132 Syba SD-PEX40054 Marvell 88SE9230

Offline s.Oliver

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #48 on: August 29, 2015, 07:07:13 AM »
sorry for being late (maybe), but then, i'm not an unRAID user yet, but have ordered all necessary parts to built that new machine for unRAID and other purposes.

DON'T KILL A FEATURE because of an hardware usage change, but rather CHANGE THIS FEATURE into something useful for todays usage patterns.

as one user stated: change this feature to be useable on shares (default: disabled). this opens up a solution everybody can use, but has not to. probably most do use shares to access the data on drives, i'll definitely do so. and while it's beneficial to me as feature in this case, i don't try to figure out every-bodies else's usage scenario. and then, who get's hurt? it's optional.

just my 2 cts here.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2015, 02:43:37 PM by s.Oliver »
unRAID 6.2.4 Pro / MoBo: SuperMicro X10DAC / CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2620 v3 (1x) / RAM: 64 GB (4x Samsung DDR4-2133 ECC) / GFx: XFX ONE HD5450 / CPU-FAN: Noctua NH-U9DX i4 / PSU: Corsair AX760 / Rackmount: X-Case RM 424 Pro (24 Bay)

Offline jbrodriguez

  • Community Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 684
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #49 on: August 29, 2015, 06:01:50 PM »
Hi,

When I add a disk to the array, I set the spin up group appropriately.

I like to think that what it does is make sure that when a file is requested on that disk, _ONLY_ that disk is spun up.

Probably, with the current codebase, it would behave like this without the need of specifying a spin up group.

If, in my use case, not specifying a spin group gets the same result, then remove the feature.

On the other hand, I do share some of s.Oliver's feelings.

If you have already written the code .... :)

Offline RicT

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #50 on: October 28, 2015, 08:35:46 AM »
Don't use groups.  I have no need, since I am only running 3 data drives and will probably never go much bigger.

Offline kizer

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2138
  • You think you're confused?
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #51 on: December 01, 2015, 11:55:43 AM »
Don't use groups.  I have no need, since I am only running 3 data drives and will probably never go much bigger.

Famous last words. Lol

I don't use the Spin up Groups either.
HTPC: AsRock ION 330 + XBMC Live
unRAID budget box: unRAID 6.2.4, Athlon x4 630 2.8GHz AMD, BIOSTAR A760G M2+, 8 GB DDR2 800 RAM, 11TB all WD Green, AOC-SAS2LP-MV8, Cooler Master 590, Corsair AX760, 240 GB SSD and lots of Sata Cables

Offline garycase

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12770
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #52 on: December 01, 2015, 03:40:58 PM »
A word on the various comments suggesting changing this to apply to shares instead of specified disk groups => DON'T !!

Spin-up groups are very useful if you have controllers that "freeze" activities on attached drives while another drive on that controller is being spun up (this is not uncommon).     But if you have, say 10 drives in a "Movies" share, you certainly don't want all 10 of those drives to spin up when you access the share.    On the other hand, if a media item you're streaming is on disk x, and you know that any access to disk y will cause disk x to "freeze" until y spins up, you'd most likely want to have x and y in a spin-up group, so when x spun up, so did y ... thus eliminating any hiccups in the streaming.

It's not a critical feature -- this is true of a LOT of the "bells and whistles" that are in the current release -- but it's VERY handy for those of us who use it.    It's very easy to test whether it's useful for your particular setup => spin down all drives;  start a stream from one drive;  and then, one-at-a-time, do an access to other drives and see if any of those accesses cause the streaming video to pause.    If so, you've found an interaction you can eliminate with a spin-up group.
Clearly it takes a while to identify all of the interactions -- but once they're all "mapped" you'll never again have a movie freeze because somebody else accessed the server.

Offline kizer

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2138
  • You think you're confused?
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #53 on: December 01, 2015, 08:16:02 PM »
Very True garycase. I honestly have never put anything on a User Share. I've always moved files around based on Disk Shares to make sure all video files of a particular video stayed together to insure there are no freezes or buffering, but that is the way I keep my files organized. Do I think you should remove the SpinUp Group option? No because it does appear some users actually use it, but like mentioned before unRAID and drives have come a long long way in speed.
HTPC: AsRock ION 330 + XBMC Live
unRAID budget box: unRAID 6.2.4, Athlon x4 630 2.8GHz AMD, BIOSTAR A760G M2+, 8 GB DDR2 800 RAM, 11TB all WD Green, AOC-SAS2LP-MV8, Cooler Master 590, Corsair AX760, 240 GB SSD and lots of Sata Cables

Offline garycase

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12770
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #54 on: December 01, 2015, 08:53:13 PM »
Note that spin-up groups have absolutely nothing to do with user shares => whether you use them or not has no bearing on the problem the spin-up groups resolve.

I also keep all files associated with a given video on the same disk.

But if my wife is watching a video on the main TV, and we have a guest (son, grandson, friend, etc.) who decides to watch a video in another room, if the video they want to watch is on a different disk, then I don't want the action of spinning up that disk to cause a freeze on the video already being watched => but this will happen in many cases if they're on the same controller.    My drives are all assigned to spin-up groups that I carefully identified (as I outlined above) ... so this never happens.

Considering there are only two of us, it's clearly not a big deal => but it's not all that unusual for my wife to watch a movie while I'm "fiddling" with the server (adding content) and occasionally we'll have a couple grandkids who are watching things in other rooms as well.    So it's very handy to have the spin-up groups.


Offline kolepard

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #55 on: June 01, 2016, 09:27:52 AM »
No. I do not.

Offline ufopinball

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • UFO Pinball
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #56 on: September 18, 2016, 10:41:02 PM »
Nope
Cortex • unRAID Server Pro 6.2.4 (Dual Parity)
ASUS M3A78-T MB • AMD Phenom II X6 1100T 3.3GHz • Mushkin 991762 DDR2 800 (16GB) • 2 x Dell PERC H310 • Seasonic X750 Gold
12 x Seagate ST4000DM000 4TB 5400rpm (40TB) • 2 x SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB SSD (Cache)
Docker: PlexTV • VM: CentOS (LAMP server)

Lab • unRAID Server Pro 6.2.4 (Dual Parity)
ASUS M3A78-T MB • AMD Phenom 9950 X4 Black Edition 2.6GHz • G.SKILL F2-8500CL5D DDR2 1066 (4GB) • 3 x Adaptec RAID 1430SA • CORSAIR Enthusiast CMPSU-650TXV2
2 x Seagate Barracuda XT ST32000641AS 2TB 7200rpm • 10 x Samsung Spinpoint F4 HD204UI 2TB 5400rpm • 2 x Samsung EcoGreen F4 ST2000DL004 2TB 5400rpm

Offline Ph9214

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #57 on: December 15, 2016, 06:26:32 AM »
nope what are those

Offline perhansen

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #58 on: December 15, 2016, 10:35:05 AM »
Nope, don't use it and nerver will.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Main Server 6.2 Plus : SuperMicro X10SLM-F, Xeon E3-1240Lv3, 2x8GB ECC. VM : Windows 10, OSX, 4 x linux.
Backup Server 6.1.8 Basic : Proxmox virtualized... with other stuff.

Offline mbc0

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: Do you use spin up groups?
« Reply #59 on: January 10, 2017, 02:23:13 PM »
Please Don't remove them! It would be a deal breaker for me!