New to Unraid - starting to piece together a build

Hi all,

I'm totally new to Unraid and I'm just starting to plan a build but just need some advice on a CPU. It's a used CPU and I want to make sure that it's not some special engineering sample or something that would be missing features.

It's a Intel-Xeon-E5-2650-2-GHz-Eight-Core-BX80621E52650-Processor.

Brand Intel

Processor Model Xeon E5-2650

MPN BX80621E52650

UPC 675900005570

Key Features

Clock Speed 2 GHz

CPU Socket Type Socket F, Socket R

Multi-Core Technology Eight Core

Processor Quantity 1

Product Type Processor

Cache Memory

Level 1 Size 32 KB

Level 2 Size 256 KB

Level 3 Size 20 MB

Type Advanced Smart Cache

Expansion / Connectivity

Compatible Slots 1 x processor - LGA2011 Socket

Other Features

Manufacturing Process 32 nm

64-bit Computing Yes

Architecture Features Enhanced SpeedStep Technology, Execute Disable Bit Capability, Identity Protection Technology, Intel 64 Technology, Intel AES New Instructions (AES-NI), Intel Turbo Boost Technology 2.0, Intel Virtualization Technology, Intel Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O ( VT-d), Thermal Monitoring Technology

Platform Compatibility PC

Miscellaneous

Max. Operating Temperature 67.4 °C

Will this work?  :)

What do you intend to do with your unRAID server? Do you intend to use it just as NAS or do you want to utilize other features?

A Xeon is a powerful processor and can be overkill depending on how you intend to use unRAID.

The CPU will work, choosing the motherboard can be a little trickier, you want to make sure you get the features you want.

Hi, thanks for responding so quickly.  :)

It will be used as a NAS (my current NAS just died). I plan to add some dockers as well as set it up as a Plex server with the NAS most likely doing the transcoding of .mkv files. Not sure about any VMs yet.