Why only Docker containers and not dockerfiles?

Is there a reason the unRAID Docker templating system only supports prebuilt Docker containers, and not using dockerfiles themselves to build the containers locally?

The reason I ask, is that I have built some docker containers that have free but proprietary software (such as Syncrify and Adaptec maxView Storage Manager) and it would not be appropriate to include their proprietary software inside a downloadable Docker container... but it is perfectly OK to distribute a dockerfile that--when being built--downloads the software and installs/configures it into a new docker container on the destination system.

I am by no means a docker expert (as in I know zero about creating one) but my understanding is this:

Only when using a non automated builddoes docker bypass the dockerfile (simply because one does not exist)  using automated builds unraid (and any docker implementation) uses the dockerfile from docker hub to build the container.  Therfore you should not have any issues at all. (99% of the docker apps running in unraid are automated builds).

And to expand a bit further (and stretching my understanding quite a bit) unraid does not support docker compose but tbh I don't know the exact ramifications of that for the reasons already given

But for further questions I'd suggest bringing this thread to the attention of lsio or binhex or aptalca etc

Sent from my LG-D852 using Tapatalk

Unless you mean why does the dockerfile have to be hosted on docker hub and not on github etc in which case I would guess that you could install the container manually via the command line but I really don't know much about that

Sent from my LG-D852 using Tapatalk

Building the containers locally is possible, but its like re-inventing the wheel.