1activegeek

[SOLVED][6.4.1] Preserve User Defined Networks for Docker - not showing up

12 posts in this topic Last Reply

So I'm new to unRAID and it took a few looks around things to find the details in the help documentation for the Docker settings to find the new feature from @bonienl "Preserver User Defined Networks". First off thank you to him for this as I do like to use custom created networks. 

Description: When setting this option to YES, it is seeming to preserve the network through a reboot, but it is not making it available in the docker network type drop down as described. 

Help reads: 

Shows whether networks created outside of the GUI are removed or preserved for Docker. When preserved user defined networks become available in the Network type dropdown list of containers.

How to reproduce: Enable the setting under Settings > Docker > Advanced tab - Preserve User Defined Networks

Expected Results: Any custom created docker networks would now appear in the Network Type dropdown in the containers section.

Actual Results: Network Type dropdown in the containers section has no new entries matching the customer created networks.

Edited by 1activegeek

Coming to bump this topic from about a month ago. Haven't seen any responses. I'm hoping someone can help shed some light. I recently had to go through a cache upgrade, and in doing so I lost the configured docker networks. I was expecting this would have saved them, but to no avail as well. Happy to test and help resolve as this is an important feature that I do in fact utilize. 

It is working fine for me.

image.png.7b90fc4d78a2c183d04ac6d1551701f1.png

docker network create -d macvlan --subnet=192.168.1.0/24 --gateway=192.168.1.1 -o parent=eth1 my_network

image.png.5fcf3a2b82c0d595966a459064faf46a.png

Make sure that your own created networks do not conflict with the automatically created networks. A parent interface (here eth1) can only be used once!.